At the 2016 Annual Meeting three new Board Members were elected. The new Board Members are Rick Smith, Lori Adams, Linda Patterson. 

The officers for 2017 are:

  • President - Chuck Nystrom
  • Vice President - Randy Allen
  • Treasurer - Nancy Cone
  • Secretary - TBD

The following are responsible for key roles for 2017:

  • Membership - Linda Patterson
  • Lake Host Coordinators - Lori Adams and Ron Cheetham
  • VLAP (water testing) - Cindy Riordan, Chuck Nystrom, Rick Smith
  • Weed Watching - Cindy Riordan, Chuck Nystrom
  • Eversource Contact - Nancy Cone
  • Publicity -
  • Potluck Dinner Coordinator -
  • Boat-In - Randy Allen
  • Loon Census - Nancy Cone
  • Webmaster - Dick Loveland, Rick Smth
  • Facebook - Randy Allen and Frank Malinoski
  • Fundraising - Randy Allen, RIck Smith, with help from all Board members
  • Boat Parade Coordinator - Randy Allen
  • Annual Meeting Coordinator - Chuck Nystrom
  • Loon Census - Nancy Cone
  • Facebook - Randy Allen, Nancy Cone
  • Calendar Coordinator - Rick Smith
  • Manahan Bulletin Board - Randy Allen, Nancy Cone

 The current Board members are as follows, each Board member serving a three year term.

2017 - Randy Allen and Ron Cheetham
2018 - Nancy Cone, Cindy Riordan and Chuck Nystrom
2019 - Rick Smith, Linda Patterson and Sheila Adams


Annual Meeting 2016: 

The 7th Annual Meeting of the association was held on Saturday, August 13 at 9:00 AM at the Manahan Pavilion where the business of the association was reviewed with over 50 members  Special thanks for all their hard work to those whose terms expired: Frank Malinoski, Lucy Hill and Pat Nash.  Rick Smith, Linda Patterson and Sheila Adams were elected to the Board.

Following are reports from members of the Board.

Treasurer - 2016 paid membership of approximately 73 families which is just about the same as last year.   Please get the word out to your neighbors who have not joined. ·At 8/31 we have $6,001.19 in our Reserve Fund and $3,074.48 in our operating account.  We still need to pay for water testing.  Great job everyone!

Lake Host:- We have Lake Hosts at the boat launch in Manahan Park each weekend.  As of 8/31/2016 we had 515 inspections which are up significantly from 2015 which saw 403.  There have been no “saves” which are observations of invasive aquatic plants on the boats or trailers.  Our Lake Hosts are the first line of defense against any invasive species.

Weed Watchers - The Weed Watchers continuously perform performed a review of most areas around the lake and no invasive species were detected.  YEAH!!!!!!!!!!  We have also requested that Manahan Trust put $5,000 in reserve for any potential invasive weed eradications.

Water Testing - Overall, the readings remain relatively stable and our lake is healthy.  The water is much clearer this year.

Presentations - Presentation by Officer Seth Alie from Marine Patrol who had a very educational and interactive presentation and answered many questions.  The most frequent violation is not maintaining at least 150 feet from another boat.


am20141 am20142


 Antrim resident the recipient of the prestigious John F. Morten Award for Exemplary Lakes Stewardship!

 Concord, N.H., August 14, 2015 – Robin Loveland, founder, past President (and current member) of the Franklin Pierce Lake Association, was awarded the John F. Morten Award for Exemplary Lakes Stewardship at the association’s annual meeting on August 8th, in Manahan Park alongside beautiful Franklin Pierce Lake in Antrim, NH.

The Morten Award was established in 2002 in memory of the late John F. Morten (1914-1989), in recognition of his lifelong work to protect New Hampshire’s lakes and ponds. It was his vision and grassroots efforts that led to the creation of the statewide New Hampshire Lakes Association (NH LAKES). This award is NH LAKES highest award, given to the person who has had the greatest impact on the protection of lakes and ponds in New Hampshire.

NH has almost 1,000 lakes and ponds that are in the public trust and the protection and stewardship of these water resources often falls to the people who live closest to them; the people, the communities and the businesses that most rely on them and enjoy them. Susan Goodwin, Chair of NH LAKES Board of Directors said, “it is people like Robin – one of thousands of volunteers across the state – that keep our lakes clean and the special places they are for everyone living in or visiting NH. And, although Robin is one volunteer among many, her work has truly been exemplary.”

Robin single-handedly pioneered the founding of the Franklin Pierce Lake Association in 2009 and served as its first President and chief volunteer. She recruited her family, friends and neighbors from around the lake, networked with the NH Department of Environmental Services (NH DES) and other state agencies, contacted NH LAKES, implemented a water quality sampling and monitoring program, a weed mapping and monitoring program, a Lake Host program (providing courtesy boat inspections to prevent the spread of aquatic invasive plants and animals), and launched the association’s website. She was the driving force behind the creation of a very effective lake stewardship organization.

Tom O’Brien, President of NH LAKES, presented the Morten Award to Robin at her association’s meeting and noted in his remarks that, in addition to all the work that Robin did to create the lake association, she went one step further. “Robin did for the Franklin Pierce Lake Association one of the most important things that any leader can do,” said Tom, “she found her replacement. One of the best things that we can do as leaders,” said Tom, “whether we are a Board member, a program volunteer, or an executive, is to help find your replacement. And that is what Robin did; she recruited the next association President and for me that is what separated her from so many other worthy volunteers.”

The New Hampshire Lakes Association (NH LAKES) is a statewide 501(c)(3) member-supported nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting New Hampshire lakes and their watersheds. For more information, visit, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or call (603) 226-0299.


 Morton Award